Skip to main content
Skip to main navigation
Skip to search


The School of Education at Indiana University Kokomo serves an eleven-county area in north central Indiana, which includes Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Fulton, Grant, Hamilton, Howard, Madison, Miami, Tipton, and Wabash Counties.

The mission of the School of Education at Indiana University Kokomo is to prepare successful teachers for the classroom who must master both a body of content knowledge as well as effective teaching skills. As a result, our teacher education programs offer a balance of broad liberal arts education and specialized knowledge in professional education and concentrated areas. The Indiana University Kokomo Teacher Education Programs are based on the Professional Educator Model, which was created and designed using standards from the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), the Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (INTASC), the Indiana Department of Education Office of Educator Licensing and Development (formerly the Indiana Professional Standards Board, IPSB), and other current teacher education literature including best practices, in the belief that the prospective teacher education candidate develops, over time, from a novice to a skilled educator.


The purpose of our Teacher Education Programs is three-fold:

  1. to prepare students to serve as effective teachers and members of the profession;
  2. to assist students in meeting Indiana licensure requirements for public school personnel; and
  3. to assist Indiana University graduates in securing satisfying professional positions.
Last updated: 09/18/2016